Museum Langmatt

Museum Langmatt and park, Baden
Library, Museum Langmatt, Baden
French Impressionists at Museum Langmatt, Baden
Stiftung Langmatt Sidney und Jenny Brown
One of the most important private collections of French Impressionism in Europe.

Renoir, Cézanne, Monet – the Museum Langmatt houses one of the most important private collections of French Impressionism in Europe as well as a collection of Venetian vedute from the 18th century. Rare ceramic objects and carpets from East Asia and Europe form a further focus of the collection.

Villa Langmatt was built in 1900/01 by the important Swiss architect Karl Moser as a residential building for Sidney and Jenny Brown-Sulzer, one of the founding families of BBC (today ABB). Together with the Art Nouveau villa and the spacious park, the unique art collection forms an incomparable historical ensemble. A magical time capsule in which inspired exhibitions combine the collection with contemporary art. At the same time, the museum fascinates with insights into the upper middle-class living of the Belle Époque. With changing exhibitions and multi-faceted events, the Langmatt is a house of discoveries for all generations from near and far.

47.481099, 8.306711


Museum Langmatt

Römerstrasse 30
Opening hours

Museum closed until
The museum and park will remain closed during the two-year renovation in 2024/25. During this time, the Impressionists will go on a European tour: three important museums in French-speaking Switzerland, Germany and Austria will show the Langmatt's Impressionist collection of around 50 paintings. For the first time in its history, it will be on display outside of Baden.
Contact and additional information
+41 56 200 86 70

Currently in this museum