Back to top

Burg Trifels

History and tradition
Castles and gardens
Annweiler am Trifels
Germany
The Castle of Trifels protected the inhabitants of Annweiler during medieval times. In the 12th and 13th centuries, German emperors and kings stored Imperial Regalia there. Ownership of these regalia legitimised their rule, hence the medieval saying: ‘Whoever owns Trifels, owns the region.” The castle is also well known for its prisoners: In 1193 the English King Richard the Lionheart was imprisoned there and perhaps also the Emperor Henry VI in 1194. The main tower, which served as gate tower, chapel tower and safe at the same time, dates back to the heyday of the castle around 1200. It is well preserved with its rusticated ashlars and original stonework. The Imperial Regalia were kept in the beautifully vaulted Romanesque chapel on the first floor. In the room above visitors can now find modern replicas of the most important treasury items: the crown, cross, imperial orb, sceptre and sword. The originals were moved toVienna in 1800. The palace is a complete reconstruction from the years 1938 to 1947.
Burg Trifels
Burg Trifels
Burg Trifels
Opening hours

February 1st to March 14th: Saturday, Sunday and holidays 10:00-17:00
March 15th to October 31st: daily 10:00-18:00
November 1st until 30th: Saturday, Sunday and holidays 10:00-17:00
Closed in December and January

Last entry 45 minutes before closing.
Additional openings for groups possible upon request.

Address
Burg Trifels
Trifelsstraße 72
76855
Annweiler am Trifels
Germany
+49 6346 84 70

49.20134, 7.96698