Back to top

Musée du Château des ducs de Wurtemberg

Castles and gardens
Others
Montbéliard
France
In the heart of the city of Montbéliard the castle looms upwards from its location on an outcropping rock, situated above the confluence of the rivers Lizaine and Allan. The castle, consisting of two imposing round towers (1424 and 1590) and a main building that was rebuilt in 1751, was the residence of the Dukes of Württemberg for four centuries, from 1397 to 1793. The Dukes exerted a formative influence in protecting the spiritual independence and freedom of Montbèliard, which was strengthened by the Reformation in the 16th century.

In 1960 the castle was converted into a museum and now displays collections from the realms of archaeology, the natural sciences and the arts. Since 1970, the museum has also been developing a collection of contemporary art, with special emphasis on works by the painter Jean Messagier. Numerous temporary exhibitions in various sections of the museum also inspire visitors to explore this location.
Musée du Château des ducs de Wurtemberg
Musée du Château des ducs de Wurtemberg
Opening hours

MON, WED-SUN 10.00-12.00, 14.00-18.00

Closed: 1/01, 1/05, 1/11, 25/12
Address
Musée du Château des ducs de Wurtemberg
25200
Montbéliard
France
+33 3 81 99 22 61

47.510356, 6.798466